How To Meditate With Chakra Stones: 3 Simple Steps

Meditation is a great way to gain a better perspective on your life, and to manage stress. You can reduce negative thoughts and emotions, and increase your sense of patience and balance. 

How To Meditate With Chakra Stones

If you need to take a moment to calm down, or you want to balance and ground yourself, then meditation is the key. You can also meditate with Chakra stones to help unblock your body and mind. 

So, what are Chakra stones, how can you meditate with them, and what are their benefits? Let’s find out. 

What Are Chakra Stones?

Chakra stones originate from Buddhist and Tantric Hindu practices. These Chakra stones are actually gemstones that work to balance the energy of your chakra points in your body.

They are often used for their healing purposes, which is why they can be used for Reiki and other healing techniques. 

Chakra is the Sanskrit term for the ‘wheel’. This relates to the wheels of energy that are located at various points in your astral spine. There are 7 main chakra points.

When each chakra loses balance or is blocked, this can impact your spiritual health, physical health, and mental health.

Chakra stones will therefore carry immense healing properties and spiritual energy that can connect to each chakra.

These gemstones can aid in improving a range of physical health issues, such as anxiety, chronic pain, high blood pressure, and even mental health issues such as trauma, negative thoughts, and negative energies. 

These healing stones connect to the primary seven chakras in the body. These are: the crown (head), third eye, throat, heart, solar plexus, sacral, and root chakras. 

In short, a chakra crystal is a type of gemstone that can unblock or balance each one of the seven energy centers called chakras.

These gemstones hold great vibrational energy and transmit this energy in order to balance your emotional, physical, and spiritual energies.  

How To Meditate With Chakra Stones

How To Meditate With Chakra Stones

If you want to try meditation with chakra stones or crystals, (see also: How To Meditate Using Crystals) then you can follow these simple steps.

1. Situate Your Chakra Stones

You can either wear the chakra stones, hold them in your hands, place them near you, or place them on the parts of your body that you want to balance. See the last section of this post to see exactly where you can place them.

2. Begin Your Meditation

Next, it is time to begin your meditation (see also: How Many Times A Day Should You Meditate?) technique. Once all of the stones are placed where they need to be, begin your chakra meditation.

Find a comfortable spot, either sitting on the floor, or wherever you find is best for meditating.

Try playing some relaxing music, and practice some deep breathing techniques. This should help you feel in the moment, focusing on your breathing with each inhale and exhale.

3. Breathe and Visualize

At this moment, you will need to focus on each chakra, and imagine its colored light. Each chakra has its own color, so you will need to use stones that correspond to this color. 

When you inhale, breathe in deeply, and inhale the life force and good energy of each chakra stone. With every exhale, release all negative thoughts and stuck energies. Bask in the energy that the Chakra stones or crystals provide, and allow them to heal you. 

Imagine the light of the chakra, and feel it lift you up higher and higher. Allow this energy to pass through the body. 

You can try body mapping, being aware of all parts of your body like your head, arms, legs, core, and more. Depending on where you place the chakra stones, focus on that section of your body and allow the healing powers of the stones to flow through you. 

You can also use a chakra tree. Not only are they beautiful, but they will help balance all your chakras.

Where Do You Put Chakra Stones During Meditation

There are various stones that work to heal each one of the seven chakras. Let’s move from the root chakra, one by one, up to the crown chakra.

You can place these crystals on the corresponding body part that is connected with the chakra that you wish to unblock or cleanse. This is best done when lying down, so you may need someone to help you place the stones.


The root chakra, also known as the base chakra, is red. It is located at the base of the spine.

Both red and black stones work well for this chakra. The best crystals for this chakra are garnet, black obsidian, or red jasper.


The sacral chakra is located in the lower stomach near the pelvis.

If you want to heal the sacral chakra, use orange stones. Carnelian, orange calcite, and sunstone are all good choices.


The solar plexus chakra is located just above the belly button.

If you want to heal the solar plexus, then yellow stones will work best. You can use citrine, tiger’s eye, or amber.


The heart chakra is located at the center of the chest.

If you want to heal the heart chakra, then the crystal should be green or pink. You can use rose quartz, (see also: How To Meditate With Rose Quartz) malachite, or aventurine. 


The throat chakra is located right at the throat area.

The throat chakra is blue so turquoise, aquamarine, or blue lace agate works best.


The third eye chakra is located at the center of the forehead between the eyebrows.

If you want to heal the third eye or balance your energy in this area, then indigo is the right color. The recommended crystals or stones will be lapis lazuli, sodalite or celestite.


The crown chakra is located at the top of the head, or even slightly above.

For the crown chakra, you can use violet or white crystals such as labradorite, selenite or amethyst. 

Each stone will need to be placed on your body in the right area to stimulate the chakra. Then, you will need to lie there and focus on the stone on your body, focusing on its energy and color. 

Take a look at this diagram to help you understand where the stones should be placed, depending on which chakra you want to focus on.

As mentioned above, you can wear the stones as jewelry while you meditate, or you can hold them in your hands or pocket. As long as you feel them, and are connected to them, you can harness their power. 

To summarize, chakra stones can be used to balance and unblock the energies in your chakra. There are 7 chakras that correspond to various parts of the body.

To meditate with chakra stones, you will need to place them on the right part of the body that you wish to heal, hold them, or wear them. 

Then, you will need to focus on the chakra stone’s energy and color, and meditate with deep breathing exercises. Then, allow the chakra’s energy to flow through your body and balance you. 

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post on how to meditate with chakra stones.

Lois Whitlock
Scroll to Top